I know I’ve droned on at you this past month about balancing your workload, keeping in touch with people and keeping yourself safe while you’re at university… I suppose there’s one thing I haven’t spoken enough about – having fun!

Call me a killjoy but I don’t totally agree with that saying that university is the best time of your life. That being said I’m just a 90 year old in the body of a 22 year old. Inside, I’m just aching for a cuppa in front of the fire with a nice chocolate digestive. So ignore my opinion on this matter because, for you, university could be the best time of your life. You don’t have to work 9-5 every day, most of you will live with (or at least near to) your friends, and there’s an offer of a party nearly every night. Trust me – you’ll never get that again!

So do what you love. You’re studying a subject which you hopefully enjoy, and while the deadlines may be a drag (I’m drowning in them at the moment) at least you’re writing about things which you’re interested in. There’ll probably be a society at the university focused around something you love, why not join it? Give it a go and enjoy your favourite hobbies with people who are as enthusiastic about it as you are! If you want to party, go for it! Obviously make sure you keep yourself safe and don’t show up to lectures so hungover that you see two lecturers while there are only one, but letting your hair down is good for you.

So after a month of feeling like an old lady lecturing her grandchildren about the dangers of university allow me to say this:

  1. I’m not your mother.
  2. Enjoy yourself!
Leave a Reply

