Psychiatric wards have a pretty bad reputation, but they’re no longer the horror settings from Victorian novels. I was voluntarily admitted to a Psychiatric ward after a suicide attempt two years ago.

Contrary to the common misconception, I was not locked away for a long time with no control over my life: I was released after only a week, and was allowed out on leave once they deemed me well enough to cope with them. I wanted to provide a bit of information for those who may be considering how best to keep them self or their loved one safe.

Being admitted is a little scary. You walk into a building of strangers, but the doctors and nurses are normally friendly and are there to help. When I first arrived I had a meeting with my keyworker who introduced herself and helped me to settle in. She took a walk with me whenever she was on shift, I know a guy whose keyworker used to bring in board games to play with him.

The ward I was put into was very modern and clean, I had my own room with a key where I could escape if I wanted to be alone. I wore my own clothes and my friends and family brought in books and puzzles to keep me occupied while I was there. There was a main lounge with a television and surprisingly comfortable seating. A dining room and kitchen where we could help ourselves to tea, coffee, biscuits and oddly – custard. They offered activities such as going to the onsite gym, playing pool and even baking.

While it wasn’t exactly fun, and was far from a holiday; it was a place where I didn’t have to worry about anything or constantly fight for survival. So if you are admitted, are considering it, or have a loved one who is facing admission; I want to encourage you. It’s not as bad as you may think.

If you’re worried about keeping yourself safe please talk to someone.

Recommended by MIND

Samaritans

Advice on keeping yourself safe

Leave a Reply

