Bummed. That’s the only word I can think of to use in this situation – I am bummed out.

Seventeen years I’ve lived in this house, loved and entertained this family and this is how they repay me? I guess you must know the feeling, when the people you love bring someone else into the family and you’re second best all of a sudden. It’s not even fair because everyone knows I’m the superior one. And I’ve been here longer…

There was another before this fluffy giant they brought home with them. She was nicer though, still huge and smelly but at least she left me alone! This new one, she follows me everywhere. I go to grab some lunch, she follows me. I go back inside, she’s right behind. She herds me out of rooms with warm laps and loving hands that scratch my neck the way I like it. She trots along at my heels when I’m off for a stroll in the garden. To be honest with you, I’ve had just enough of it thank-you-very-much.

I suppose there’s that one thing she does have on me as far as the humans are concerned – tricks. The best trick I can do is to sneak across the lap of an unsuspecting human to steal a heavenly morsel from their plate. This stupid mongrel sits at demand, lies down at demand – hell, she even rolls over for their entertainment! It’s pathetic really, as though she has no backbone. She’s just a stupid mindless beast that takes up space in my home. It’s not as though I can’t do the tricks… it’s more a matter of…Well I might as well say it – there’s no chance on this planet that I’m going to work for my treats when I get them for free.  

Luckily for me, there is still one person in this house who prefers me to that irritating brat. She gives me milk, treats and plenty of attention. The only time I don’t like her is when she drags that spiky thing through my fur to make it ‘shiny’, afterwards I can parade around the house and show my new coat off to the ruffian. Her hair is too long and shaggy to be beautiful.  And she is way too annoying to be cool. She hasn’t really got much going for her.

Then again, I am biased. But how could I not be a cat person? I am a cat after all…

marmite
Marmite  reflects on her irritating new housemate.

 

 

If you’re a dog person please don’t hate me! My dog’s perspective will be up next week!

Leave a Reply

